Follow Up Appointment with RE

27 10 2008

Well, my follow up appointment with my RE was pretty anticlimactic. She said that she did not think that there was an issue with my eggs, with my DH’s sperm or with any possible recurrent early pregnancy loss issue. She stated that this was because their protocol covers most of those reasons, e.g. I take baby aspirin during my cycle, would take care of clotting issues, am on folic acid, would take care of other issues. That does not really make sense to me – I hear of plenty of women taking other medicines for clotting disorders, etc. So I told her that while this may be the case medically, I could not psychologically move on without having some testing. I did have an hsg prior to starting so the old uterus looks fine I guess. I had a host of blood tests done in 2005 for an unrelated issue so she looked at those results and wrote an order for all other blood tests. She really thinks it was due to chromosomal issues. But then she says I have a 50% chance of a healthy pregnancy – I was overwhelmed at this point so all I said was “50%??” and she said, “I bet you do not believe that but it is true” like it is a good thing??????? I guess I am greedy but I think 50% sucks. And if it was just two genetic flukes in a row, why is it 50%? This RE has been voted one of the best doctors in the universe or some shit like that so I am trying to keep that in mind while I self diagnose myself and re-write my own protocol. But I was annoyed like all get out because I waited for her for like a half hour…………she also said my lining was good – 16 both times, which I thought may be too thick. She does not want to up my meds if I try again for fear that I may hyperstimulate – my estrogen was pretty high last time.

So she said I could cycle again when I am ready – I am not ready – not ready at all. I need more time to recover – I also need more time to prepare myself if I have another loss if we try again. She also said that some of this blood work may take some time to come back – does not matter to me. I also made another appointment at another IVF clinic for a second opinion on November 18. I did not tell this RE that I was going to do that – she does not seem like the sharing thoughts with another doctor type.

Then my nurse coordinator came in after the doctor left – the woman I have cried with on the phone, the woman who told me about both of my losses – and I started to cry a little when she asked me how I was doing – I was trying not to cry so hard that when I spoke I sounded like a freaking man, I swear it. She is really sweet, gave me a hug and is really pulling for me.

I really am scared shitless to try again – I really want to get through the holidays first and really, really get into a good place mentally.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 10 2008
dreamyouremine

I’m so sorry they didn’t find any answers for you. Getting a second opinion is a great idea–she should really be running more tests. I’d even want her to repeat the tests from 2005 that would be related to pregnancy loss. Hang in there.

-Nancy

3 11 2008
mylifechronicles

I am sooo with you. If my RE told me that they were not going to change the protocol, I would freak out too. And 50% is one lousy number… especially when it means a world of difference (baby vs. not) and when lots of $$$ are at stake! But this is how I console myself – 50% for fresh IVF is better than 20% for FET IVF, which is better than 10% for IUI, which is better than 5% for au’ naturale. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

