Kids; My Thoughts on My Second Second Opinion; It’s Not Him, It’s Me

21 05 2009

I took my dog to a dome.stic violence shel.ter tonight to play with the children living there.  It was overwhelming on so many levels.  First – these poor kids, boys, girls, toddlers, babies, teens that have been displaced from their homes as a result of violence being committed against their mothers – processing that – and seeing their smiling, laughing faces as my dog tried to eat a life sized teddy bear in the room.  Some of the kids lost interest pretty quickly except for two – one little boy who was about 3 and a girl who was about 10, they stayed with us for the entire hour.  They kept screaming my dog’s name over and over and over and over again, Rico, Rico, Rico, Rico, Rico, it was hilarious and my dog was completely overstimulated.   I really, really wanted to take them all home with me and mother the shit out of them.  Is mothering the shit out of someone bad?  (right now I am listening to mr. m and his son roughhouse – it is an amazing beautiful sound and is making me smile)  I cannot process it all emotionally right now, too drained but I will be going back.

So, I am on the fence about switching.  Everyone at my clinic knows me and I get most stuff that I want very quickly.  One of my IRL friends (she is an IVFr and fellow miscarrier) went to the clinic and the same doc that I got my second second opinion (“SSO”) from – she just switched to my RE for a multitude of reasons, some at my urging since the success rates are 40ish percent higher and because I think my clinic is good at IVF.  That being said, I do feel like I have been driving my own treatment – I really want a partner, or better yet an all knowing RE that is going to have all of the answers.  I am all over the place with it.  I am going to call my nurse tomorrow and if she says that my RE told her that I have to wait for my RE to get back before testing, I will probably jump ship.  If they will do the testing, I will probably stay for convenience and send my results to Mr. Second Second Opinion (“Mr. SSO”).   So that is the plan.  

Finally, I am going to be looking for a new donor.  Mr. 20something with the baby blues failed for two cycles – it was going to be three strikes but I am fickle I guess.  So that will be my project for the weekend – looking for a replacement.  What do you guys think about blood types – I picked Mr. M’s before but I am thinking about picking mine – I do not think it really makes a difference but I will be asking Dr. Google the same question.

Actions

Information

6 responses

21 05 2009
theworms

Thanks for all the comments and support, I so appreciate it.

I’m all for second opinions.

GL and wishing you nothing but the best.

22 05 2009
Maria

“mother the shit out of them”…awesome. I will have to use that sometime 🙂

The only thing I can say about blood types is from my own experience. EJ has Ed’s blood type (A+), which is incompatible with mine (A-). We believe that is what caused the breast milk jaundice, therefore preventing me from continuing to breastfeed EJ. Now if you’re not planning on BF’ing that point is moot. But if you are, just know there is like a 5% chance of the same thing happening to you. I know the odds are small, but it happened to me so I thought I should just pass that info on to you.

22 05 2009
Nikki

I don’t think there’s any harm with mothering the shit out of our kids! I don’t know about them, but we certainly deserve it! 🙂

Good luck with your call with your RE today. I’m sure whatever you decide will be the best decision for you.

I don’t know much about the blood types etc, I hope you get a lot of info from Dr. Google!

22 05 2009
Mo

No wisdom. Just know that you’re in my thoughts. I hope that clarity comes quickly.

Mo

22 05 2009
Sarah

hmmmm. I know nothing about blood tyupes. However, I wouldn’t have picked my husband beause of blood types, so it seems like a odd criteria. However, it seems as if you are wondering if it is a miscarriage thing?

I’m wondering about today’s beta.

22 05 2009
bellaandherfella

That is so cool that you took your dog to the shelter. How sweet!

I hope donor #2 does the trick and that you find the best RE for the job. I’m cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

