day 3 test results; mildly afraid

28 05 2009

Okay, rundown of my numbers

E2 – 88 (bad, really bad)

TSH 1.06

Prolactin 13.8

FSH – 5  (some may cheer over this but it is probably because of my e2 suppressing it)

LH – 3

Also, from the u/s – I have 7-8 follicles on my right and 8-9 follicles on my left (these numbers are encouraging), two cysts on my left ovary (possibly making my e2 high????) and “something fluid filled next to my right ovary”.  god bless the nurse that called me to tell me this – my new RE was out today and he has not had a chance to look at any of this.  I would have been pissed if she did not tell me about this mystery mass next to my right ovary but shit I would really like some real input on what this is.  If it is 100% fluid filled, then I think it will be okay – right????  If it is tissue or solid at all, will be terrified.  I will not freak out, I will not freak out.

Also, my historical e2 levels on day 3 are 73 (twice – once after lupron) , 25 (after being on lupron) and 22 after being on microdose lupron.  High e2 levels are just as bad as high FSH levels and in fact can suppress my FSH, which has always been low.  This could be bad and could indicate that my ovarian reserve is rapidly diminishing (could explain my shitty response to IVF#1) and/or that one of my ovaries is just ready to quit.  Yep, quite a bit to swallow and I am trying not to motherf*** the universe right now – especially since I am leaving for vacation tomorrow.  I may be able to catch up with all of you but I will be thinking of all of you and thanks for your support.

Actions

Information

14 responses

28 05 2009
Bunny

wow. that’s a lot to take in all at once. hope you can push it aside and enjoy your vacation…

28 05 2009
sprogblogger

Ugh. Sorry about the crappy numbers – I have to confess that I haven’t paid as much attention to E2 #s as I probably should have throughout this process, though I do remember that my numbers were through the roof when I was dealing with cysts after the ectopic.

As far as “fluid-filled-something-or-other”, with that many identified cysts, I’d be thinking it’s probably just another one – yes? Maybe one squished up in back, where it’s harder to US, but just one more of the same? No fun, but no biggie. I’m no oncologist, but ‘fluid filled’ sure doesn’t sound like how I’d picture something cancerous would look.

Whatever’s going on, try not to stress over it while you’re on vacation. There’s nothing you can do about it for the next few days, so give yourself a break from worrying about it. I know. Easier said…

Thinking of you, and hoping that the high antral count promises good things for you in the future.

Have a fantastic vacation!

28 05 2009
caroline

I don’t know much about e2 levels, but it’s encouraging that you have a good number of follicles developing. I hope that you have a wonderful vacation – you deserve a good break. Hugs to you. x

28 05 2009
Echloe

I hope you can forget about all this E2/cyst stuff and have a nice vacation. But I know that will be really hard. We IFers can never forget that stuff. Well the good news is you have a bunch of follies. That is always a good sign. Have lots and lots of fun on your break.

28 05 2009
bellaandherfella

I am so sorry! Try not to freak, though….I don’t think (’cause I’m an expert and all) an E2 of 80 would suppress your FSH THAT much. Yes, it may be suppressing it a little but not astronomically. Those cysts are probably producing E2, causing it to be higher than usual, but once you get rid of the cysts, it should be okay, right?

Also, I realize that this could not be the same for you, but I also have a mass next to one of my ovaries and my RE said it’s just a paraovarian cyst that I was born with and it’s nothing to worry about.

I hope you can enjoy your vacation and not stress about all of this! Wishing you lots of fun on vaca!!!

28 05 2009
Ashley

Well, I think that E2 could be pushed up for lots of reasons–like those cysts. And the higher number of follicles seems pretty encouraging to me.
But the biggest thing: VACATION!!! Relax and enjoy, you certainly deserve it.

29 05 2009
K

Gosh, sure sounds like you’ve got a ton o’follicles for any DOR. The e2 just doesn’t fit with the rest of the story. Well, enjoy your vacation. No sense in pissing on the universe right now….you need to go have yourself some fun!

29 05 2009
mekate

Hey you– hope I catch you before you go– the # follicles you are making is amazing– the other numbers honestly will only help them know how best to play with medications– I don’t think they spell doom.
Sorry about your mystery mass, but fluid filled is REALLY GOOD and if it were alarming to them, you’d be in there right now.
Hang in there and have fun on vacation if you can possibly let yourself do so- this will all be here when you get back. Warmly,
Kate

29 05 2009
emily

First of all – enjoy your vacay! Leave all this crap behind you for now – rest & relax!

Hope you get some answers about your numbers and fluid soon!

29 05 2009
Sarah

Nothing like partial data and no interpretation to make a gal crazy!

You are in my thoughts. I hope your vacation is relaxing–feel free to indulge (if you do…)

29 05 2009
Jill

Hope you have a great vacation and try not to think too much about all these test results. Fwiw, cysts can drive up E2 levels, so keep that in mind.

31 05 2009
Mo

sounds like people have some good ideas about the elevated E2 levels. hoping that it’s the cysts too. AFC looks very good.

Lisa, hope you have a great, restorative vacation. look forward to hearing about it when you return.

Mo

2 06 2009
strongblonde

i remember my RE said that she didn’t start to worry unless the E2 was >100.

hope you have a great vacation 🙂

xoxo

3 06 2009
T

Hey L,

I have no clue what these numbers mean but just sending you my thoughts.. I hope you have a wonderful vacation..

Leave a Reply

