4 Weeks Pregnant

17 07 2009

Wow.  I am still reveling in this.  Just happy.  For the first time in a long time I feel at peace with myself and with the world.  I have been at odds with myself, with the universe for a while now.  The toll of losing three pregnancies and serial infertility treatments in one year really took a toll on me and the way I interact with my life.  I feel like I want to be a participant again, I feel like I have more energy in mental and social ways than I have had in a long time.  

I know that a million different things can happen with this pregnancy – but for now, I am well and truly pregnant and the only information that we have happens to be amazing and is the best beginning we could ask for.  I slept through the night last night and it has made a big difference – I feel more rested this morning, a little nauseous and my nips are reminding me that they are here but otherwise, fine.

For reference, I am posting my hpt from yesterday but I think I am done with the pee sticks for now.  They have served me well but I am looking forward to trying to just relax and enjoy and not engage in my “checking” behaviors (thanks again Mo, wherever you are!).

Yesterday, FRER 13dpiui and 14dpivi:

IMG_0679

Yesterday’s compared with an FRER at 12dpiui and 13dpivi:

IMG_0680

One of my favorites, my FRERs from the last few days:

IMG_0681

So, I always loved posts that described what is going on with baby, so here is mine!!!  I am 4 weeks pregnant today and from babycenter:

How your baby’s growing:

This week marks the beginning of the embryonic period. From now until 10 weeks, all of your baby’s organs will begin to develop and some will even begin to function. As a result, this is the time when she’ll be most vulnerable to anything that might interfere with her development.

Right now your baby is an embryo the size of a poppy seed, consisting of two layers: the epiblast and the hypoblast, from which all of her organs and body parts will develop.

The primitive placenta is also made up of two layers at this point. Its cells are tunneling into the lining of your uterus, creating spaces for your blood to flow so that the developed placenta will be able to provide nutrients and oxygen to your growing baby when it starts to function at the end of this week.

Also present now are the amniotic sac, which will house your baby; the amniotic fluid, which will cushion her as she grows; and the yolk sac, which produces your baby’s red blood cells and helps deliver nutrients to her until the placenta has developed and is ready to take over this duty.

Actions

Information

15 responses

17 07 2009
sprogblogger

WOOOHOOOO Love those HPTs getting darker and darker! Yeah, isn’t it amazing what being pregnant (finally!) does to your outlook on every other aspect of life? I hadn’t realized how used I was becoming to feeling like I was the only kid not invited to the birthday party, I was the kid who never gets picked for a team, the one who isn’t good at school or sports or art or music or ANYTHING.

Love being pregnant, even when it makes me reject all foodstuffs as disgusting (sacrilege!)

So glad everything’s going so well. Couldn’t be happier for you, and I can’t wait to go through this next part of the journey with a friend!

17 07 2009
Sue

Those are some seriously dark hpts!!! I agree that you should totally celebrate each milestone and every single day. DH said this in the fall – whether you celebrate it or are cautious and don’t let yourself enjoy it at all, if something bad happens, you will be just as hurt and upset either way, so you might as well enjoy it! He is totally right! Of course, this time I am having a hard time taking my own husband’s advice…but there it is! Love the ticker. I can’t wait to hear the next betas and see your first u/s!

17 07 2009
Maria

EJ and I are jumping for joy for you!!!!
I could have written that post word for word. My worrying never stopped so I’m always here if you need reassurance. Oh, and invest in a doppler in two months. It will save you TONS of worrisome moments during the pregnancy.

Oh, and STOP PEEING ON STICKS!!!!! LOL! Save that money and get yourself a mani/pedi 🙂

17 07 2009
Miss MVK

First time commenting, just wanted to say so happy for you and I love that you post all your HPTs! Here is to a happy, uneventful pregnancy. Congratulations!

17 07 2009
mylifechronicles

Love the series of HPTs picture. Its nice to see that line darken with every test. I am soo happy for you. And I am glad that you feel ready to enjoy your life and your pregnancy. Congrats again.

17 07 2009
Echloe

I’m so glad you are feeling more positive about your pregnancy. And I’m glad that you are givin up the pee sticks. Line darkness means nothing. It just has to do with dye. They aren’t quantitative tests. So enjoy your budding baby.

17 07 2009
K

VERY happy to hear you are at peace. What a great thing for your body and mind. Enjoy!

17 07 2009
Ashley

Every single pee stick is beautiful! Only an IFfer can say that and get it, but they ARE!!
Your numbers are awesome too!
I can’t wait to hear about your u/s!

18 07 2009
mrslala

I surfed over from No Swimmers…just had to say CONGRATS! =)

18 07 2009
Demara

so happy for you!

glad those sticks work for you 🙂 wish I could find some that work too

did you wait till your period stopped?

mine seems to have a mind of its own and never stops.

18 07 2009
Magsy

Revel and enjoy and then revel and enjoy some more! You’ve earned it.

19 07 2009
mtnhighmama

OMG OMG OMG!!!! WWOOOOOOHOOOOOOO!!! I am so excited for you! this is fantastic news. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had a chance to read in so long, but I could not have wished to read a better update! I am THRILLED for you! It will be such a joy to follow your journey and to watch it unfold.
Congratulations!

I’m off to drink champagne in your honor!

19 07 2009
iamstacey

omg, you have been through it! I’m so, so, so glad your numbers are rising and looking great!! I can’t wait to see u/s pics! 🙂

19 07 2009
T

I have been thinking about you..and to come home and read this post.. I am so very Happy for you!!!

This is just the most perfect news for today! OMG you are expecting.. YA!

Can’t wait to follow your journey to mommyland L!

19 07 2009
Sarah

Hey now that you are pregnant, maybe you could tweek your new format? it is showing your side bar on almost 2/3rds of the screen and your main text on the remaining 3rd. It would be too bad, except the text is tiny!

Leave a Reply

