5 Weeks Pregnant

24 07 2009

Wow.  Sprout’s heart is going to start beating this week.  (please!)  I will have another human being’s heart beating inside of my body.   That is just amazing and surreal.  I have been feeling pretty hopeful with serious and major bouts of fear and anxiety coming and going.

Wednesday night was the worst sleeping ever – I was up at 1:00 and stayed up on and off until 6:00.  Gah.  Insomnia sucks.  My nausea was pretty bad yesterday evening.  I normally do not eat fast food but I was craving a Wend.y’s cheeseburger.  We went – I ate the burger and at one point I looked down at it and it was the most vile thing I have ever seen.  I then tried to wash that feeling away with a french fry and all of the sudden the french fry in my mouth was the most vile thing ever.  I had a very hard time swallowing it and not throwing up on the table.

The Fatigue was something else as well.  However, I did sleep through the night last night so I am hopeful that I will be able to keep my eyes open at work today.  My tata’s are pretty tender and it hurt yesterday at times when I was walking.  Yeah – when I put my foot down, it hurt my tatas!  That is crazy!

Sprog and Niki got some amazing u/s news yesterday – I am thrilled for them and I hope that I follow in their footsteps.  

My father is coming to visit this weekend and I am going to tell him the news – I did not tell him about the last pregnancy or miscarriage – he cried like a baby after my second one…I love my dad very much but the emotional agony that caused him and me…I guess I am a little scared to tell him about this pregnancy too.  Please let this work, please.

So, onto my joy and discovery of what my body and Sprout are doing this week – from Babycenter:

How your baby’s growing:

Deep in your uterus your embryo is growing at a furious pace. At this point, he’s about the size of a sesame seed, and he looks more like a tiny tadpole than a human. He’s now made up of three layers — the ectoderm, the mesoderm, and the endoderm — which will later form all of his organs and tissues.

The neural tube — from which your baby’s brain, spinal cord, nerves, and backbone will sprout — is starting to develop in the top layer, called the ectoderm. This layer will also give rise to his skin, hair, nails, mammary and sweat glands, and tooth enamel.

His heart and circulatory system begin to form in the middle layer, or mesoderm. (This week, in fact, his tiny heart begins to divide into chambers and beat and pump blood.) The mesoderm will also form your baby’s muscles, cartilage, bone, and subcutaneous (under skin) tissue.

The third layer, or endoderm, will house his lungs, intestines, and rudimentary urinary system, as well as his thyroid, liver, and pancreas. In the meantime, the primitive placenta and umbilical cord, which deliver nourishment and oxygen to your baby, are already on the job.

 

Actions

Information

10 responses

24 07 2009
Sprogblogger

Yay! So very happy for you! Sorry about the vileness of all things food-ish. Hope that subsides soon. I had to put aside a donut yesterday (the first I’ve had this pregnancy!) and it just about killed me. But yeah – how do people eat those things?!?

I’m so delighted to be able to go through this with you. Have a great day, retching aside.

24 07 2009
MoDLin

I have been reading from the sidelines for a little while and just wanted to say that I’m happy things are looking so good right now. You’re feeling green, food is gross, tatas are sore. Yup, I’m feeling happy for you.

24 07 2009
Traci

Yay for sore tatas and vile food and exhaustion. Keep it up little Sprout! Make mama miserable for several more weeks. 🙂

Are we crazy or what? Looking forward to more fabulous news in the week and months to come.

24 07 2009
Sarah

Have you thoughgt of getting new bras? I know that the tata pain is reassuring, but a good fitting bra is heavenly.

24 07 2009
peeveme

The fear is absolutely debilitating and there ain’t much you can do about it other than to try to put it out of your mind.

Sorry you feel so bad but that is reassuring in a way.

24 07 2009
T

Ya for hitting the 5 week mark.. look forward to following you through the next 30 plus…

24 07 2009
Caroline

Great news that things are progressing well. I hope that you enjoy the weekend with your father, and I hope that you can get some good rest. x

24 07 2009
mekate

Happy 5 weeks!
heart will be beating now, you’ll see it. you will.
and a few weeks from now you’ll hear it too!

thinking of you and just grooving on your wonderful pregnancy
and sorry about the fear and the barfy and the insomnia, BUT so glad you are able to be doing this right now, crappy parts and all.
xoxo
Kate

24 07 2009
echloe

Wow, you are getting your m/s pretty early. I’m sorry. Hopefully it won’t last long. Hang in there.

10 08 2009
jenny

im also 5 weeks gone and am going through all the same things, yesterday i couldnt eat hardly anything, i had a packet of crisps all day, i felt to sick n tired to eat, and last night i had a tiny bleed (nothing major, just spotting) but i panicked so much! i had a miscarriage 2 years ago and im just scared of going through it all again. hopefully all will be well though! fingers crossed! All the best in the months ahead!! 😀

Jenny x

Leave a Reply

