Loving and Waiting

16 11 2009

I have not been posting much – but I have been trying to keep up with commenting…So far, this is definitely the best part of pregnancy for me.  I am feeling them move (amazing) and I have my doppler to keep me sane, knowing that they are alive.  I am still feeling mildly to moderately icky most of the time but NOTHING like I felt the first trimester, which, had I known I would feel so badly, I would have asked my doctor to write me a slip for short term disability and taken some time off of work.  I am still on 16 mg of zofran per day – I would love to be off of it – and I tried to wean at 17 and then at 20 weeks but the serious puking started again.  My docs at this point think I need to be on it for the entire pregnancy.  Scares me.  Between the flu vaccine and the H1N1 vaccine (I got both) I am scared of so many things…on top of the still nervous/anxiety feeling I have about my little girl’s choroid plexus cysts.  Gah – I have to just learn to accept what I can and cannot change.  But seriously – I feel pretty good, I am exquisitely happy and really, really looking forward to having them here.  

I did have a semi-scary episode last week.  My stomach (now really my uterus has taken over my entire stomach) would tighten for like 10-15 minutes at a time – get super rock hard.  I went into my doctor’s office – they did a cervical measurement – my cervix was nice and long and closed – about 4cm I think, which I was told was longer than average for this point in time – so woo hoo!!!  They were not entirely sure what was causing the tightenings – just one of those pregnancy flukes I guess.

There have been a ton of bfps lately and I am so happy for these women and DAMN – I really want the rest of you to be there too.

Actions

Information

12 responses

16 11 2009
K

I think worries are just part of the package of parenthood and pregnancy. At least this is the conclusion I’m starting to reach. glad to hear the nausea abated and I can’t wait for your babies to be here with you!

17 11 2009
T

I always loved 20 weeks to like 32 weeks.. its so amazing and you feel so good.
Love hearing all about your journey to mommyhood…

17 11 2009
Melissa G

I am thrilled to hear that you are doing so well. And I agree with K, I think worrying is really all part of the journey to parenthood.

And thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Hugs.

17 11 2009
Sue

About the cysts. I am in a February due date group and out of about 20 of us, 3 of our babies had those cysts at some point. I’ve never heard of them before so initially we freaked when the first one was found on an u/s but then a second and then a third…made me think it wasn’t all that uncommon. All 3 of these have had the cysts entirely disappear. I am almost wondering if it is a normal part of development in some babies but we didn’t know b/c we never did so many ultrasounds before! (kinda like my baby’s arrhythmia is not something that is abnormal during that particular stage in development, just less than 50% of babies have it…so they consider it “off” until it rights itself). Just a thought.

I’m glad you are feeling better. Sorry about the Zofran, but lots of women are on it and their babies are healthy. You can’t help it! You can’t let yourself be THAT sick for 9 whole months! that would be even less healthy for the babies! I got the 2 flu shots too and now I’m on 2 medicines for being sick, I hate taking anything at all!

17 11 2009
Lindsay

I second the above comment about the cysts. Both of my daughters had these cysts show up on ultrasound and both cleared up and disappeared before birth.

17 11 2009
Sarah

Yay for feelign good!

17 11 2009
mekate

I am so glad you are loving this part! I can only imagine the magic of feeling them move and I am so glad for that and the doppler so you can have momentary reassurance. I am so glad you got checked out when you had the tightenings, good for you!
glad it was anomalous, but I am so proud of you for going.
Keep taking good care of yourself, and
I am thinking happily of you!
xox
kate

18 11 2009
Caroline

I’m so glad to hear that things are going well. Enjoy your babies – I can’t wait to see what they look like when they arrive. Hugs. x

18 11 2009
Maria

I think I had the same tightening you’re talking about. I had plenty of NST’s and they all came back normal and my OB said it was a normal thing during pregnancy and not to worry about.

18 11 2009
Andrea

Try not to feel bad about the Zofran…you need it so your babies can grow and gain weight! Praying for baby girl!

22 11 2009
Erica

Maybe drink more water – that might help with the tightening. Were they Braxton Hicks contractions? I’m pretty sure they can start early especially with twins. I’m having them all the time and the tightness is starting to become very uncomfortable. Poor little boys – no room for them to move around.

I’m trying to drink more water but having a hard time getting lots down. I’m so SICK of water, you know? I need something with a little flavor!!! Adding lemon has helped but now that I’m on bedrest, I’d have to rely on my DH to cut up some lemon and somehow, I don’t see that happening. 🙂

I also had the seasonal flu and H1N1 vaccines. We did the right thing – no worries there. I’m sure your babes are doing just perfectly!

3 02 2011
oszukaj ruletkę gra progresywna

Yay for feelign good! 9 brb

Leave a Reply

