Modified Bedrest

25 01 2010

Today was my last day of work.  On Friday, I had eight contractions in one hour, to be followed by six contractions the next hour with cervical pressure…I went to triage and thankfully, my cervix was still long and closed.  This was the fourth time I went to triage from work for contractions, just does not happen when I am relaxing at home…so the docs suggested, and I was finally ready, to not work anymore.  The short term disa.bility paperwork will be completed this week and I am to be on modified bedrest.  I have to say, I do not think I am capable of doing much more than that – my feet hurt, normal shoes do not fit, I have grotesque swelling if I sit for too long without my feet up high, I am getting carpal tunnel, my hands hurt most of the time, I am sleeping with wrist guards, my hips hurt and I cannot go out and do anything for more than an hour.

And I would not trade it for anything – I want to keep these two safe and sound and in utero for AT LEAST four more weeks.  Seriously, I am not worried about the physical discomforts, they are temporary but I only have one time to do this right, to make sure that they are healthy.

I am worried about being physically fit enough to take care of them once they do get here – seriously, I am a wimp, I am afraid I will not be able to carry both car seats, carry them, etc.

I am going to keep busy with non-physical stuff – like internet shopping!, starting their memory books and organizing the nursery.  And reading books from ebooks.   And incubating these babies FOR AT LEAST FOUR MORE WEEKS!!!

Actions

Information

16 responses

25 01 2010
Andrea

Sorry to hear about all the contractions, but glad that they are able to be controlled by not working! I think you went off at the exact same time I did and I’m so glad I did. Trust me, you’ll be so glad. You need to rest and take it easy. I can’t believe how exhausting it is to just be pregnant. Enjoy your time off and baking those babies!!!!

25 01 2010
lastchance

Wow, I’m sorry for having to be on modified bedrest, but it sounds like it is really time. I hope you can laze around and enjoy it for a few weeks, doing some online shopping and such things all with your feet up! I hope your DH is waiting on you hand and (non-swollen) foot 🙂

25 01 2010
K

oh man- the contractions must be scary. I’m glad you can get on modified bed rest and work is working with you. Just a little bit longer to go!! Look how far you’ve come! 🙂

25 01 2010
Melissa G

Well it sounds like you made the best decision for the three of you! Hopefully the majority of your painful symptoms will ease up now that you will be taking it a lot easier.

From what I’ve heard your instinct to care for those babies will override any ailments post birth. So don’t be too hard on yourself about the future. You’ll do your best, and everyone else will too!

Hang in there Mama! Four more weeks to go!

25 01 2010
PJ

I so admire your attitude about the physical crapola that is involved in pregnancy. Even though I know this stuff is temporary, it still makes me irritable.

Definitely sounds like you’re ready for bedrest. And this post completely reminds me that I need to get in touch with my HR person and see if bedrest during pregnancy counts as short term disability. I’m hoping it does, just in case.

Happy shopping!

25 01 2010
Kate

Now that you can relax at home, I’d expect you’ll get a few more weeks out of your pregnancy. Hope you feel better chilling out!
I couldn’t carry 2 carseats at once even without a baby in each. Personally, if I intended to keep them in the carseats more, I’d get a double snap ‘n go (or whatever those are called) that I could click the seats into one by one and then push the kids wherever I was going. At least as they gain weight, you’ll train your muscles to carry more and more too. Did you pick your double stroller yet?

25 01 2010
Sarah

Sounds like a good plan!

25 01 2010
sprogblogger

Hurrah for last day at work, and may you enjoy manymany more weeks on modified bedrest! THinking of you & will be checking in often to see how you’re doing!

25 01 2010
K

Oh wow. Well, I’m glad you’re off work now. And I must say, your attitude is really great! But I can’t help but think what’s in store for me……

25 01 2010
Katie

Yay for the last day of work! Enjoy your time focusing completely on the babies, and the shopping! Rest up!

26 01 2010
IF Optimist (Traci)

Get lots of rest and take care. I’m sure you have made the right decision for you all and hopefully getting a little more rest will allow you to ease some of the discomfort. Also hoping that this cuts the darned contractions and you will get plenty more time with babies inside and happy. Don’t worry about afterwards, you will get through it.

26 01 2010
Hannah

You’ve got such a great attitude to the physical discomfort! Good luck for bedrest!

26 01 2010
lillyshephard

here’s to giving your babies and your body the rest you need to keep them safely tucked inside of you for a bit longer!!

26 01 2010
Maria

I’m so glad you’re going to take it easy. I was getting worried hearing about all of your contractions. You won’t believe how quickly time will pass while you’re on bedrest. Like you said, you have things to keep you busy, and I bet you’ll really enjoy daytime TV. LOL.

Just keep in mind to adjust yourself frequently while on the couch or else any random body part will fall asleep 😀

26 01 2010
K

so i was looking at this one because it’s on sale now. http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2636335

But the one I was considering first is the Indie Twin from Bumble.ride here http://www.poshbaby.com/posh/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=900_880_185_963&products_id=4024

And babygizmo.com is the website I was telling you about that does all of the video reviews. Worth checking out to see how they open and close and do. You can email me at speclk2 at hotmail dot com if you want to chat about it. Would like to know what you decide too!

26 01 2010
strongblonde

sorry about the bedrest, but it sounds like it’s the best for right now. i did lots of internet searching and tons of last minute reading!! 🙂

you’ll do fine with both cars seats…promise. somehow it just all works out!

are you trying to decide what kind of stroller to get? the snap n go is a lifesaver in the early months!! i also looking into this at great length. let me know what you decide. 🙂

Leave a Reply

