DH’s Surgery, Stimulation and Sleep

7 06 2010

It was a rough weekend in some ways – my dh had knee surgery a few weeks ago, it got infected and he had to have emergency knee surgery on Thursday.  My DH does EVERYTHING around the house – takes care of the dogs, laundry, dishes, vacuuming, etc. etc. etc…..so, needless to say, I have been in basic survival mode all weekend!  I am not sure how long he will be off of it for – he did not get out of bed yet, poor thing.

So, the babies STTN Wed, Thurs and Fri – all days that they were in daycare – Sat night, Spice got up at 3 am after being put down at 9:30 – so, yesterday, I tried to really stimulate them – and frankly, enjoy them more.  Each time after they ate, I either read to them, did tummy time or just played with them in their swings.  It worked BECAUSE THEY SLEPT FROM 9:45 TO 5:30!!!!

I have followed dr ka.rp’s book on the 5 S’s – and I have been trying to wean them from the swaddle – I keep one arm out and I put white noise in their room last night as well.

Here is to dh’s knee getting better and sttn!!

Actions

Information

9 responses

7 06 2010
Niki

I hope your dh is feeling better soon! My dh was dx with Lyme’s disease this week after having slept for 3 days straight! So I basically spent half a week single parenting twins, which is exhausting, so I give you kudos! CONGRATS on STTN! I must admit that I’m a bit envious! However, my boys do technically STTN because they go to bed at 7pm and don’t wake for their night feeding until 1-2am and then sleep until 6am. It could be worse, so I’ll take it. How’s working going? I’m dreading the return to work in late August/early September, so I’d love to hear how you’re making it work. Oh and I’d love to see more photos of your cuties! 🙂

7 06 2010
PJ

I hope your husband heals quickly. To have surgery yet again, must be very hard.

But, YAY for sleeping through the night! Wow! I’m hoping this back to work/childcare thing keeps working out a lot better than you imagined.

How’s the pumping at work going?

7 06 2010
Kara's Mom

Sorry to hear about DH’s knee, but happy to hear that you’re managing quite well. Congrats on getting them to STTN – that’s a huge milestone!

7 06 2010
t

Hope your dh recovery goes well.. You sound like superwomen doing everything plus taking care of your babies and your dh.. 🙂

8 06 2010
Sue

I did read Dr. Karp’s book…well, it was a lot of book for one simple one-sentence theory, so I kind of ‘perused’ the book. It totally works. I am also trying to break the swaddle and she does good unswaddled for a few nights and then moves her arms and legs so much that it wakes her up on other nights…so we go back and forth. However, her daytime naps have been swaddle free since about 3 weeks old…

8 06 2010
Maria

You’ll find that stimulating them gets easier all the time. As they grow you’ll see that they are interested in more things and can pay attention longer…which will tire them out more 🙂

Sounds like you’re handling everything just wonderfully with your dh being stuck in bed (poor guy). I hope he enjoys the “rest” while he can. LOL.

8 06 2010
strongblonde

the five s’s are key!! and i totally agree with maria. it gets a lot easier to stimulate them and interact with them during the day.

…as for the sleeping through the night thing…you know i don’t know about it and can’t give you any advice!!

8 06 2010
Kate

Lucky you for STTN! I still cosleep and hold K while she naps – bad!
Hope DH recovers quickly!

9 06 2010
cath102

Have you ever heard of Babywise? I used this book with my twins when they were young, it essentially talks about eat, play, sleep, and eating at least every three hours during the day, we used this and my twins slept through the night at 8 weeks and never looked back! It definately helps to keep them stimulated, especially after eating. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

