Pump Work Pump Work Pump Work Pick up Babies Pump Feed Babies Pump Sleep Pump Repeat

1 07 2010

My daily schedule is the title of this post. Literally.

The babies are fabulous – getting so big, rolling from front to back, Sugar has been laughing – yes laughing for about two weeks now and Spice is on his way.  They now look at each other and smile at one another, hold hands and coo at one another.  I tried to post a video but wordpress would not accept an mp4……I remain completely and totally in love with them but wow – the sleep deprivation has totally blown my mind.  I am not going to complain too loudly – for the most part my kiddos are sleeping from 10ish to 5ish with Spice waking up 2-4 times and sometimes putting himself back to sleep, sometimes not.  I get up when I hear him and wait a few minutes to see if he will go back to sleep, which he does 50% of the time.  So I might be getting 4-6 hours in a row with one spectacular night of 7-8 hours thrown in to tease me.  Big improvement over the 1-2 hours I was getting prior to this but the body is greedy!  A little sleep makes me want so much more!!!!!   All I think about is sleep – like a junkie thinking about her next fix, I fantasize about my next sleep!!!  I have not showered since Sunday…I am going to try and squeeze one in this morning!

It has been very difficult with my husband being laid up for the last six weeks or so…it is a long story but basically he has been through hell with his health and has not been able to help that much – could not carry babies for the longest time, could not change them, etc. etc. etc.   I really felt like a single mom – and to all the single moms out there – you are amazing.

Now that I am back to work the sleep deprivation has really shown its power!  It is not entirely unpleasant – almost like a different reality.  I have to write EVERYTHING down or I forget it.  Yesterday I was so tired, my eyes were watering all afternoon!

I have to say, the pumping is very time consuming but I feel SO GOOD after I am done – hormones are an amazing thing!  I am not putting pressure on myself to pump for x amount of time – although I say that I have to make it at least six months for my own internal satisfaction but I wold like to make it longer – I would love to make it the full year – but it is so hard to work and pump and still have time to snuggle them and have a marriage.

I hope you are all doing well – infertility on the brain – so excited to hear more about your girls – sprog and kate – I cannot wait to meet your little ones – and dreams and false alarms – so happy for your twin news!

Actions

Information

7 responses

1 07 2010
Kara's Mom

Wow – you’re giving me a lot to think about! I’ll be back to work 10 weeks after their born and I haven’t the slightest idea how I’m going to pump, etc. since I work from my car, basically. You sound great though and I’m glad your babies are doing so well! I have 11 days to go! YAY!

1 07 2010
lillyshephard

you are amazing! and so good to hear from you again…been wondering how it’s going. too bad that video would post…would love to see your cutie pies in action!

1 07 2010
Mo

You sound like you’re doing an incredible job with a difficult situation. You’re a good model to me of how to juggle it all should we get out the other side with a baby in our arms one of these days.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I have no idea how you have time to read blogs with your schedule, but it’s always great to hear from you : )

Mo

1 07 2010
Caroline

Good to hear from you sweetie! Keep up the great work with your babies. x

1 07 2010
strongblonde

so glad to hear that you’re making it 🙂 it IS tough, but so rewarding, right?

glad to hear that i’m not the only one who puts showering on the back burner, lol. i’m even over the whole i-feel-dirty feelings!!!

i think it’s easier to be successful when you don’t put time limits on pumping. you do it until you can’t do it anymore. 🙂

you’re doing great!

2 07 2010
Sarah

You are such a sweetie!

7 07 2010
Amanda

Do you have a double pump? Sorry if you mentioned it before, but thought I would throw it out there…it makes a world of difference and literally cuts the time in half.

I’m so glad your enjoying the babies and everyone is doing well. The sleep deprivation will pass, hold on to that. Don’t listen to those who say you’ll never sleep again…you will and the first year will seem like a dream so long ago.

Hang in there, your doing great!

Leave a Reply

