Low Body Temp – Freaking Out

10 10 2010

Sugar was very, very fussy last night and had a bit of a runny nose so I gave her some acetaminophen at about 5:00 pm.  She went to bed at 7:30 and when she woke up this morning at 7:00 I took her temp just because she was so fussy last night.  Rectal temp – 95.4 – panic ensues.  Her head and belly felt warm but her legs were cool.  She was acting normally, drank 8 oz of warm breast milk/formula mixture and played normally and now she is napping.  I put a really warm pair of pjs on her, a onesie, socks and a winter hat – her temp went up to 98.3 within 1.5 hours.

I of course called the on-call number and spoke to a nurse at the local children’s hospital – she said to watch her through the day and obviously if she acts sick or strangely, to take her in but that if she maintains her temp, it should be okay.

Here’s the thing – I think Sugar is like me – cold all of the time and I require a blanket all year and at least two blankets in the winter.  We kept the thermostat at 71 degrees last night (it was on heat and went down to the 50s here), the thermostat in their room read 75 (we think it is a few degrees off and is a bit cooler in there) and she slept in a cotton onesie and a pair of regular cotton pjs.  Obviously, we do not want them to be too hot – but this seems to me to be an issue of not being warm enough at night.  I plan on putting her in a thicker pair of pjs with a onesie and socks tonight.  I also took Spice’s temp to see if the thermometer was off – and his was 98.6.

I am just freaked out because she had a terrible week – reaction to amoxicillin, then her immunizations and she has been pretty fussy.

Please let me know if you have had or know of anyone who has had a similar experience.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 10 2010
Kate

I’ve never heard of this, but would probably just say to dress her a little more warmly tonight. The effects of the tylenol would have worn off well before you measured her temp. Right now it’s probably about 72 or so in K’s room, and i have her in a long-sleeved onesie and socks in a fairly warm baby sleep sac. I figure if it’s cool enough for me to want to have a comforter over me when wearing sweats and a t-shirt, then she’d probably like to snuggle in a sleep sac herself.
Hope someone else has a better comment for you!

12 10 2010
Maria

Geesh, my problem with EJ is that his fevers are so high — 104.5.

Sounds like you got her temp back up pretty quickly. The socks are a great idea. I’ve noticed EJ sleeps more comfortably/soundly when he has cotton socks on (even opposed to just PJ’s with feet).

13 10 2010
iamstacey

How’s she doing now? Is the week getting better?

Leave a Reply

